Stabat Mater by Pergolesi

Woudkapel, Bilthoven – March 8, 2024 – 20.00h


Pergolesi, Giovanni Battista – Sinfonia for cello IGP. 38

Pergolesi, Giovanni Battista – Stabat Mater P.77 (1736)

The string ensemble ‘Camerata Utricia’, the historical organ and two singing voices fill the Woudkapel in a dynamic and surprising performance of Pergolesi’s ‘Stabat Mater’. A well-known masterpiece of the late baroque period, it presents strong operatic dramatic elements- some of its contemporaries criticized it harshly for them. The concert starts with the seldom heard ‘Sinfonia for cello’ of the same composer, performed on the organ and solo cello.  

cello: María Suárez López

soloists: Olga Grammatikopoulou, Hanno Egger

Camerata Utricia olv Sevastianos Motorinos